I am senior researcher with INRIA, leading project-team TEA: "Time, Events and Architectures". TEA is interested in formally modelling timed concurrency and composition of cyber-physical systems and developing tools to support modular system verification using logic, type and proof theory.


"Synthesis of embedded systems". Shukla, S., Talpin, J.-P., Editors. ISBN 978-1-4419-6399-4, Springer, 2010.

"Formal methods and models for system design". Gupta, R., Le Guernic, P., Shukla, S., Talpin, J.-P., Editors. ISBN 978-1-4020-8051-7, Springer, 2004.

"Cyber-Physical System Design from an Architecture Analysis Viewpoint". S. Nakajima, Talpin, J.-P., M. Toyoshima, H. Yu, Editors. Communications of the NII Shonan Meetings, Springer, 2017.

Scientific service

With Rajesh Gupta, UCSD, and Sandeep Shukla, VTRL, we co-founded the ACM-IEEE Conference Series on Methods and Models for System Design, MEMOCODE. I co-chaired MEMOCODE in 2003, 2004, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017. I served as Associate Editor for the ACM Transactions on Embedded Computing Systems (TECS) with EiC Sandeep Shukla, 2013 to 2020, and as Guest Editor for special issues of Springer's Formal on Methods in System Design, ACM Transactions on Embedded Computing Systems, IEEE Transactions on Industrial Informatics, IEEE Transactions on Computers, and Springer's Journal on Frontiers of Computer Science. I participate(d) to the program committee of:

  • ACM/IEEE Conference on Formal Methods and Models for System Design (MEMOCODE), 2003 to 2016
  • ACM Symposium on Applied Computing (SAC), Embedded Systems Track (EMBS), 2006 to 2020
  • ACM conference on languages, compilers and tools for embedded systems (LCTES), 2014 to 2020
  • International Workshop on Software and Compilers for Embedded Systems (SCOPES), 2014 to 2020
  • ACM Embedded Systems Conference (EMSOFT), 2008, 2013, 2014
  • International Symposium on Theoretical Aspects of Software Engineering (TASE), 2015 to 2016
  • International Conference on Language and Automata Theory and Applications (LATA), 2014
  • International Conference on Formal Aspects of Component Software (FACS), 2015
  • European Symposium on Programming (ESOP), 2009
  • IEEE Real-Time and Embedded Technology and Applications Symposium (RTAS), 2008
  • Application of Concurrency to System Design (ACSD), 2007 to 2012, 2017
  • IEEE International Symposium on Industrial Embedded Systems (SIES), 2005 to 2012
  • IEEE International Conference on Embedded Software and Systems (ICESS), 2005, 2015
  • IEEE Design, Automation and Test in Europe (DATE), 2003 to 2005

as well as in many international workshops like FMGALS'03-09, FESCA'04-05, SLAP'08, JTRES'10, HLDVT'11-16, ACVI'14-15, AVICPS'14, FTSCS'15, CRTS'15, IDEA'16.

Collaborative projects

Short bio

I have a Master in Theoretical Computer Science from University Paris VI. I did my PhD Thesis at Ecole des Mines de Paris under the advisory of Pierre Jouvelot. I worked three years at the European Computer-Industry Research Centre in Munich. I joined INRIA in 1995, in the EPART project-team of Paul Le Guernic. I led INRIA project-team ESPRESSO from 2000 to 2012. I lead INRIA project-team TEA since 2015.
I am deeply honored to be a recipient of both the ACM SIGPLAN Award for the most influential POPL paper, with Mads Tofte, 2004, and of the ACM-IEEE LICS "Test of Time" Award, with Pierre Jouvelot, 2012.

Contact me

Inria Rennes - Bretagne Atlantique, Campus de Beaulieu
263 Avenue Général Leclerc, 35042 Rennes, France