You are here

CASA

Leader: Frédéric GUIDEC

CASA : The team focuses on supporting communication and services in partially or intermittently connected networks. It notably investigates the DTN (Delay/Disruption Tolerant Networking) approach as a means to reach these goals.

Overview

The research activity of team CASA aims at supporting communication and service provision in challenged environments, and most notably in partially or intermittently connected mobile networks. The team mostly focus on the Opportunistic Networking model, and investigate how this model can help support communication and services in challenged networks.

Part of team CASA activity consists in designing opportunistic routing protocols, and implementing these protocols in communication middleware so they can be tested in real conditions.

They also investigate how distributed applications can be designed and implemented for networks whose characteristics keep changing spontaneously and unpredictably. The term Opportunistic Computing has been introduced recently in the literature in order to refer to a new computing paradigm that relies exclusively on pairwise contacts bewteen mobile hosts. Team CASA strives to contribute to the development of this computing paradigm by designing methods, models, and middleware tools that make it easier for programmers to develop distributed applications for opportunistic networks.

Keywords

Delay/Disruption-Tolerant Networking (DTN); Opportunistic Networking/Computing; Mobile Ad Hoc Networks (MANETs); Wireless Sensor Networks (WSNs); Service-Oriented Architecture.

Created since: 01/07/07
Associated establishments: Université Bretagne Sud (UBS)
Location: Vannes (56) Campus of UBS

Vous êtes ici

CASA

Responsable: Frédéric GUIDEC

L'équipe CASA concentre son actitivé sur le support de la communication et des services dans les réseaux à connectivité partielle ou intermittente, et étudie notamment le potentiel de l'approche DTN (Delay/Disruption Tolerant Networking) dans cette optique.

Domaine de recherche

L'équipe CASA concentre son activité sur le support de la communication et des services dans les réseaux à connectivité partielle ou intermittente, et étudie notamment le potentiel du modèle de communication opportuniste (Opportunistic Networking) dans cette optique.
Une  partie  de  l'activité  de  l'équipe  consiste  à  concevoir  des protocoles  de  communication opportuniste, et à implémenter ces protocoles afin de les tester en conditions réelles.
Dans le même temps, l'équipe explore la façon dont des applications distribuées peuvent être conçues  et  implémentées  pour  fonctionner  dans des  réseaux  dont  les  caractéristiques  changent continuellement  et  de façon  imprévue.  Le  concept  d'algorithmique  opportuniste  (Opportunistic Computing) a été récemment introduit pour désigner un nouveau modèle de calcul distribué reposant exclusivement  sur  des  contacts pair - à- pair  non  planifiés  entre équipements  mobiles.  L'équipe  CASA s'efforce  de  contribuer  au  développement  de  ce modèle  en  proposant  des méthodes  et  outils intergiciels facilitant le développement d'applications distribuées opportunistes.

Research directions

  • Support for communications in Disconnected Mobile Ad Hoc NETworks (D-MANETs)
  • Communications in Disconnected Wireless Sensor Networks (D-WSN)
  • Support for distributed services in D-MANETs
  • Distributed applications for D-MANETs and trials in real conditions
  • Application fields: m-Health, tactical networking, social networks, robotics, maritime communication…
Créée le : 01/07/07
Établissements de rattachement : Université Bretagne Sud (UBS)
Localisation : Vannes (56) Campus of UBS